Sharing

Category: Organizations
On this page:
    Note

    In order to share items you need to be a member of an Organization. Learn more about Organizations or learn how to start your own two-person Organization.

    Sharing items with Bitwarden means moving them into an Organization and Collection, a structure used to gather together Logins, Notes, Cards, and Identities for access by multiple users. There are a few different ways you can create Organization items for sharing:

    Move an Item to an Organization

    Organization members can move items to any assigned Collection(s) unless they’re given Read Only access to that Collection. Items can only be moved to Organizations from the Web Vault:

    1. Hover over the item you want to share and select the gear dropdown:

      Select the gear dropdown
      Select the gear dropdown
    2. From the dropdown, select the Move to Organization option.
    3. On the Move to Organization screen:

      • Choose the Organization to share this item with.
      • Select one or more Collections to share this item into. You must select at least one Collection.
    4. Click Save to finishing moving this item for sharing.

    Moving an item to an Organization will transfer ownership to the Organization. This means that anyone with permission can alter the item or delete it, which would remove it from your Vault as well. You can tell that an item is shared when it has the Shared icon next to its name:

    Shared Item icon
    Shared Item icon

    Create an Organization Item

    Organization members can create new items directly for any assigned Collection(s) unless they’re given Read Only access to that Collection. Shared items can only be created from the Web Vault, either in your My Vault view or in the Organization view:

    From the My Vault view

    To create a new shared item:

    1. On the My Vault page, select the Add Item button.
    2. Fill in all the relevant information for the new Vault item.
    3. In the Ownership section at the bottom of the Add Item panel, choose the Organization you want to share this item with.
    4. Select one or more Collections to share this item into. You must select at least one Collection.
    5. Select the Save button to finishing creating the shared item.

    Creating a shared item will set ownership to the Organization. This means that anyone with permission can alter the item or delete it, which would remove it from your Vault as well. You can tell that an item is shared when it has the Shared icon next to its name:

    Shared Item icon
    Shared Item icon

    From the Organization view

    To create a new shared item:

    1. On your Organization’s Vault tab, select the Add Item button.
    2. Fill in all the relevant information for the new Vault item.
    3. The Ownership of the item is automatically set to the Organization when you use this method, so all you need to do is select one or more Collections to share this item into. You must select at least one Collection.
    4. Select the Save button to finishing creating the shared item.

    Creating a shared item or sharing an item will set ownership to the Organization. This means that anyone with permission can alter the item or delete it, which would remove it from your Vault as well. You can tell that an item is shared when it has the Shared icon next to its name:

    Shared Item icon
    Shared Item icon