Bitwarden
Bitwarden
ProductsDownloadPricingHelpBlogContact
Get Started
Log In
HomeProductsDownloadPricingHelpBlogContactGet StartedLog In

Receive a Send

Unlike traditional Bitwarden Vault items, a Send can be received and opened by anyone with the Send link (including those who do not have Bitwarden accounts). Send links are randomly generated, and will look something like this:

  • https://send.bitwarden.com/#..., which will automatically resolve to https://vault.bitwarden/com/#/send/...

  • https://your.selfhosted.domain.com/#/send/.... if you're self-hosting

A received Send
A received Send

Depending on the options configured by the Sender, the recipient of a Send may be required to:

  • Enter a Password to access the contents of the Send.

  • Manually toggle visibility on a hidden-text Send.

Hidden-email Sends

By default, Send objects will display the email address of the Sender to recipients, as in the above screenshot. Senders can optionally hide their email address from the Send object, which will substitute in a warning message:

Hidden-email File Send
Hidden-email File Send

If you receive a Send with this error message, here's what you should do:

  • Was this Send expected?

    If this Send was expected, get in touch with the expected Sender. Validate with this person that the received Send link (https://vault.bitwarden.com/#/send/xxx/yyy) matches the one they created.

  • Was this Send unexpected?

    If this Send was unexpected, you should identify the Sender before interacting with it. Ask your colleagues, managers, or friends who have Bitwarden accounts whether they might have sent you something. If you do identify the Sender, validate with this person that the received Send link (https://vault.bitwarden.com/#/send/xxx/yyy) matches the one they created. If you can't identify the Sender, don't interact with the Send.

warning

Taking the above measures to ensure the trustworthiness of a hidden-email Send are particularly important in the case of File Sends. Don't download mysterious files.

Deleted, Expired, and Disabled Sends

When a Send has been deleted, expired, or disabled, recipients who attempt to use the generated Send link will be shown a screen that reports the Send does not exist or is no longer available:

A deleted, expired, or disabled Send
A deleted, expired, or disabled Send

Bitwarden

Products

Resources

  • Resource Center
  • Community Forums
  • Security Compliance
  • Success Stories
  • User Reviews
  • Newsfeed
  • Subscribe to Bitwarden Updates

©2022 Bitwarden, Inc.

Terms Privacy Sitemap