Secrets ManagerYour Secrets

Projects

Projects are collections of secrets logically grouped together for management access by your DevOps and cybersecurity teams. Projects that your user account has access to are listed in the primary Secrets Manager view as well as by selecting Projects from the navigation:

Projects
Projects

Opening a project will list the Secrets, People, and Service accounts associated with it:

Inside a project
Inside a project

Create a project

To create a new project:

  1. Use the New dropdown to select Project:

    Create a project
    Create a project
  2. Enter a Project name. You can change the project's name at any time using the () options menu on the Projects page.

  3. Select the Save button.

Add secrets to a project

You can add both new and existing secrets to your project:

To add existing secrets to your project:

  1. Navigate to the Secrets view and select the secret to add.

  2. In the Edit Secret window, in the Project section, type or select the project to associate the secret with. Each secret can only be associated with a single project at a time.

  3. When you're finished, select the Save button.

To create new secrets for your project:

  1. Use the New dropdown to select Secret:

    Create a secret
    Create a secret
  2. On the New Secret window's Name/Value pair tab, enter a Name and Value. Adding Notes is optional.

  3. In the Project section, type or select the project to associate the secret with. A few key points.

    • Only organization members with access to the project will be able to see or manipulate this secret.

    • Only service accounts with access to the project will be able to create a pathway for injecting or editing this secret.

    • Each secret can only be associated with a single project at a time.

  4. When you're finished, select the Save button.

Add people to a project

Adding organization members to your project will allow those people to interact with the project's secrets. To add people to your project:

  1. In the project, select the People tab.

  2. From the People dropdown, type or select the members or groups to add to the project. Once you've selected the right people, select the Add button:

    Add people to a project
    Add people to a project
  3. Once members or groups are added to the project, set a level of Permissions for those members or groups. Members and groups can have one of the following levels of permission:

    • Can read: Members/groups will be able to view existing secrets in this project.

    • Can read, write: Members/groups will be able to view existing secrets and create new secrets in this project.

Add service accounts to a project

You can add both new and existing service accounts to the project:

To add existing service accounts to your project:

  1. In the project, select the Service accounts tab.

  2. From the Service accounts dropdown, type or select the service account(s) to add to the project. Once you've selected the right service accounts, select the Add button:

    Add a service account
    Add a service account
  3. For each added project, select a level of Permissions:

    • Can read: Service account can retrieve secrets from assigned projects.

    • Can read, write: Service account can retrieve and edit secrets from assigned projects, create new secrets in assigned projects, or create new projects altogether.

tip

Fully utilizing write access for service accounts is dependent on a forthcoming CLI release. For now, this simply makes the option available in the UI. Stay tuned to the Release Notes for more information.

To add a service account for this project:

  1. Use the New dropdown to select Service account:

    New service account
    New service account
  2. Enter a Service account name and select Save.

  3. Open the service account and, in the Projects tab, type or select the name of the project(s) that this service account should be able to access. For each added project, select a level of Permissions:

    1. Can read: Service account can retrieve secrets from assigned projects.

    2. Can read, write: Service account can retrieve and edit secrets from assigned projects, as well as create new secrets in assigned projects or create new projects.

tip

Fully utilizing write access for service accounts is dependent on a forthcoming CLI release. For now, this simply makes the option available in the UI. Stay tuned to the Release Notes for more information.

Delete a project

To delete a project, use the () options menu for the project to delete to select Delete project. Deleting a project will not delete the secrets associated with it. Projects are fully removed once deleted and do not get sent to the trash like secrets do.

Make a Suggestion to this Article...*
Email (optional)

Contact Our Support Team

For technical, billing, and product questions.

Name*
Bitwarden account email*
Verify account email*
Product*
Are you self-hosting?*
Subject*
Message...*

Cloud Status

Check status

© 2023 Bitwarden, Inc.TermsPrivacySitemap