Sync your Vault

Adding, editing, or deleting vault items from any Bitwarden app will automatically push changes to your Bitwarden server, whether Cloud-hosted or self-hosted.

In order to pull those changes down to another Bitwarden app, your vault will need to sync.

Automatic sync

Items owned by you in the web vault will always remain in-sync. Items owned by an organization will sync across users and client applications every 30 minutes.

Other Bitwarden apps (browser extensions, mobile apps, desktop apps, and CLI) will sync automatically on login, and regularly when unlocked. You can also manually sync your vault to pull changes immediately.

note

When you install Bitwarden on a new device, logging in to your account will automatically pull your most up-to-date vault data.

Manual sync

To manually sync your vault from a Bitwarden app:

Select the Settings tab, select the Sync option and select the Sync Vault Now button.

Open the Settings tab, tap the Sync option and tap Sync Vault Now.

Toggle the Enable sync on refresh option to allow your vault to be synced using a pulldown gesture on the My Vault tab.

Select FileSync Vault from the menu bar.

note

Only the currently active account will be synced.

Use the sync command to manually sync your Vault:

bw sync

For more information, please refer to the Bitwarden CLI documentation.

Troubleshooting

If your vault isn't syncing properly, investigate the following:

Mismatched timestamp

Sync failure may occur if your device time is not correct. Bitwarden uses TLS/SSL, which will fail to connect a Bitwarden app to the server if timestamps are mismatched.

VPN or ad blocker interference

In some cases, VPN or ad blocker browser extensions may interfere with the connection between Bitwarden app and server. This issue is typically observed with browser extensions.


Language
© 2022 Bitwarden, Inc.
TermsPrivacySitemap