ProductsDownloadPricingHelpBlogContact
Get Started
Log In
HomeProductsDownloadPricingHelpBlogContactTalk to SalesGet StartedLog In

Send Lifespan

Unlike regular vault items and file attachments, Sends are ephemeral and have a default lifespan of 7 days and can be set to last for up to 31 days using the Deletion Date option. When a Send reaches its deletion date, it's purged from Bitwarden systems and inaccessible to both Sender and recipients.

Optionally, you can set additional limitations on access using the Expiration Date and/or Maximum Access Count options. You can also manually disable or delete a Send at any time.

Deletion Date

By default, Sends will automatically be deleted 7 days after they're created. Using the Deletion Date option, you can change this to a range of pre-specified options (e.g. 1 hour, 1 day, 31 days) or specify a Custom timestamp using the date picker (or in the text input in the format MM/DD/YYYY HH:MM AM/PM).

Deletion date has a maximum allowed value of 31 days from creation.

Deletion Behavior

When a Send reaches its deletion date:

  • For recipients (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

  • For the Sender, a Pending Deletion icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will pend deletion for a few minutes, after which it will be permanently deleted from Bitwarden systems and from the Sender's view.

    note

    There is no "soft delete" or Trash Can for Sends, meaning that once the pending deletion window has closed you will not be able to access the contents of a Send.

Expiration Date

By default, sends will never expire (but they will be deleted). Using the Expiration Date option, you can select from a range of pre-specified options (e.g. 1 hour, 1 day, 7 days) or specify a Custom timestamp using the date picker (or in the text input in the format MM/DD/YYYY HH:MM AM/PM).

Expiration Behavior

When a Send reaches its expiration date:

  • For recipients (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

  • For the Sender, an Expired icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to the Sender until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

Maximum Access Count

For all Sends, a Current Access Count ticker will track the number of times the Send link has been accessed:

Current Access Count ticker
Current Access Count ticker

You can specify a Maximum Access Count that is any positive integer.

Maximum Access Count Behavior

When a Send reaches its specified maximum access count:

  • For recipients (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

  • For the Sender, a Max access count reached icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to its Sender until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

tip

The Current Access Count ticker counts:

  • For text Sends, the number of times the link has been accessed.

  • For file Sends, the number of times the contents are downloaded.

Manually Disable or Delete

To manually disable or delete a Send from any Bitwarden app:


Products

Resources

  • Resource Center
  • Community Forums
  • Security Compliance
  • Success Stories
  • User Reviews
  • Newsfeed
  • Subscribe to Updates

©2022 Bitwarden, Inc.

Terms Privacy Sitemap