A: Use of text Sends is available to all Bitwarden users, however creation of file Sends is only available for premium users, including members of a paid organization (families, teams, or enterprise).
Additionally, creation of file Sends requires your email address to be verified.
A: By design, Sends are ephemeral. Each created Send has a maximum lifespan of 31 days, configurable when you create a Send or at any time by editing it. When a Send's deletion date is reached, it will be purged from Bitwarden systems and inaccessible to both the sender and any recipients.
A: Enterprise organizations can disable Send at any time using the Remove Send policy. Admins and owners can implement this policy from the organization's Settings → Policies page. Enabling the policy will prevent organization members from creating or editing any Sends.
A: Send is designed to be an end-to-end encrypted URL that can be shared through the web. Using Send outside of an internal network will require that ports 80 & 443 be opened. If you are using a reverse proxy, the following variables must be added to
globalSettings__attachment__baseDirectory=/etc/bitwarden/core/attachments globalSettings__attachment__baseUrl=https://YOURDOMAINHERE/attachments globalSettings__send__baseDirectory=/etc/bitwarden/core/attachments/send globalSettings__send__baseUrl=https://YOURDOMAINHERE/attachments/send
Alternatively, Send can be used online through your cloud organization. Having a self-hosted organization does not restrict usage of the cloud organization, both platforms will operate with the same subscription!