Send Lifespan

Category: Bitwarden Send
On this page:

    Unlike traditional Bitwarden Vault items and File Attachments, Sends are ephemeral and have a default lifespan of 7 days. The lifespan of a Send is entirely configurable using the Deletion Date option, each having a maximum allowed lifespan of 31 days. When a Send has reached its Deletion Date, it will be purged from Bitwarden systems and inaccessible to both its Sender and recipients.

    Optionally, you can configure additional limitations on recipient access using the Expiration Date and/or Maximum Access Count options.

    You can also manually disable or delete a Send at any time.

    Deletion Date

    By default, a Send will have a Deletion Date set to 7 days from creation. Using the Deletion Date option, you may change this to a range of pre-specified options (e.g. 1 hour, 1 day, 31 days) or specify a Custom timestamp using the date picker (or in the text input in the format MM/DD/YYYY HH:MM AM/PM).

    Deletion Date has a maximum allowed value of 31 days from creation.

    Deletion Behavior

    When a Send reaches its configured Deletion Date:

    • For recipients of the Send (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

    • For the Sender, a Pending Deletion icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will pend deletion for a few minutes, after which it will be permanently deleted from Bitwarden systems and from the Sender’s Send view.

      Note

      There is no “soft delete” or Trash Can for Sends, meaning that once the pending deletion window has closed you will not be able to access the contents of a Send.

    Expiration Date

    By default, Expiration Date will be set to Never. Using the Expiration Date option, you may change this to a range of pre-specified options (e.g. 1 hour, 1 day, 7 days) or specify a Custom timestamp using the date picker (or in the text input in the format MM/DD/YYYY HH:MM AM/PM).

    Expiration Behavior

    When a Send reaches its specified Expiration Date:

    • For recipients of the Send (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

    • For the Sender, an Expired icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to its Sender in the Send view until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

    Maximum Access Count

    For all Sends, a Current Access Count ticker will track the number of times the Send link has been accessed:

    Current Access Count ticker
    Current Access Count ticker

    For any Send, you may specify a Maximum Access Count that is a positive integer.

    Maximum Access Count Behavior

    When a Send reaches its specified Maximum Access Count:

    • For recipients of the Send (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

    • For the Sender, a Max access count reached icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to its Sender in the Send view until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

    Tip

    The Current Access Count ticker counts:

    • For text Sends, the number of times the link has been accessed.
    • For file Sends, the number of times the contents are downloaded.

    Manually Disable or Delete

    Manually disable or delete a Send from any Bitwarden application:

    Disable from the Web Vault

    To disable a Send from the Web Vault, open the Edit Send view and check the Disable this Send so that no one can access it checkbox. You can uncheck this box at any time to re-enable access to the Send.

    Disable from the Web Vault
    Disable from the Web Vault

    When a Send is disabled:

    • For recipients of the Send (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

    • For the Sender, a Disabled icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to its Sender in the Send view until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

    Delete from the Web Vault

    To delete a Send from the Web Vault, use the hover-over gear dropdown to select the Delete button:

    Delete from the Web Vault
    Delete from the Web Vault

    Disable from Browser Extensions

    To disable a Send from a Browser Extension, open the Edit Send view and check the Disable this Send so that no one can access it checkbox. You can uncheck this box at any time to re-enable access to the Send.

    Disable from a Browser Extension
    Disable from a Browser Extension

    When a Send is disabled:

    • For recipients of the Send (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

    • For the Sender, a Disabled icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to its Sender in the Send view until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

    Delete from Browser Extensions

    To delete a Send from a Browser Extension, select the Trash icon next to the Send you want to delete:

    Delete from a Browser Extension
    Delete from a Browser Extension

    Disable from Desktop Apps

    To disable a Send from a Desktop App, open the Edit Send view and check the Disable this Send so that no one can access it checkbox. You can uncheck this box at any time to re-enable access to the Send.

    Disable from a Desktop App
    Disable from a Desktop App

    When a Send is disabled:

    • For recipients of the Send (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

    • For the Sender, a Disabled icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to its Sender in the Send view until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

    Delete from Desktop Apps

    To delete a Send from a Desktop App, open the Edit Send view and select the Delete button:

    Delete from a Desktop App
    Delete from a Desktop App

    Disable from Mobile Apps

    To disable a Send from a Mobile App, open the Edit Send view and toggle the Disable this Send so that no one can access it option. You can toggle this option off at any time to re-enable access to the Send.

    Disable from a Mobile App
    Disable from a Mobile App

    When a Send is disabled:

    • For recipients of the Send (i.e. anyone with the generated link), navigating to the Send link will show a screen reporting that the Send does not exist or is no longer available.

    • For the Sender, a Disabled icon will appear next to the Send. The Send will remain accessible to its Sender in the Send view until the specified Deletion Date is reached.

    Delete from Mobile Apps

    To delete a Send from a Mobile App, tap the menu icon ( or ) and tap the Delete option:

    Delete from a Mobile App
    Delete from a Mobile App

    Disable from the CLI

    To disable a Send from the CLI, you’ll need to use the edit command to change the "disabled":false key-value pair to "disabled":true, for example:

    bw send get <id> | jq '.disabled=false' | bw encode | bw send edit
    

    We recommend reading the Send from CLI article for complete information on using Send from the CLI.

    Delete from the CLI

    To delete a Send from the CLI, use the delete command with the Send’s exact unique id as an argument:

    bw send delete <id>
    

    We recommend reading the Send from CLI article for complete information on using Send from the CLI.