User Management

Category: Organizations
On this page:

    User Seats

    Bitwarden Teams and Enterprise Organizations will automatically scale up user seats as you invite new users. You can set a seat limit on scaling to prevent your seat count from exceeding a specified number, or manually add seats as desired. Regardless of how you choose to add seats, you will need to manually remove seats you’re no longer using.

    Adding and removing user seats will adjust your future billing totals. Adding seats will immediately charge your payment method on file at an adjusted rate so that you’ll only pay for the remainder of the billing cycle (month/year). Removing seats will cause your next charge to be adjusted so that you’re credited for time not used by the already-paid-for seat.

    Note

    Only an an Organization Owner or Provider Service User can add or remove seats, as this directly affects billing.

    Set a Seat Limit

    To set a limit on the number of seats your Organization can scale up to:

    1. Log in to your Web Vault and open your Organization.
    2. Open the Settings tab and select Subscription from the left-hand menu.
    3. Check the Limit Subscription (Optional) checkbox:

      Set a Seat Limit
      Set a Seat Limit
    4. In the Maximum Seat Limit (Optional) input, specify a seat limit.
    5. Select Save.
    Note

    Once the specified limit is reached, you will not be able to invite new users unless you increase the limit.

    Manually Add or Remove Seats

    To manually add or remove seats to your Organization:

    1. Log in to your Web Vault and open your Organization.
    2. Open the Settings tab and select Subscription from the left-hand menu.
    3. In the Subscription Seats input, add or remove seats using the hover-over arrows:

      Add or Remove Users Seats
      Add or Remove Users Seats
    4. Select Save.
    Note

    If you’re increasing your Subscription Seats above a specified Maximum Seat Limit, you must also increase the seat limit so that it is equal to or greater than the desired subscription seat count.

    Onboard Users

    To ensure the security of your Organization, Bitwarden applies a 3-step process for onboarding a new member, InviteAcceptConfirm.

    Tip

    Teams and Enterprise Organizations can sync Bitwarden to an existing user directory to automatically add or remove new users using the Bitwarden Directory Connector.

    Invite

    Tip

    For Enterprise Organizations, we recommend configuring Enterprise Policies prior to inviting users to ensure compliance on-entrance to your Organization.

    To invite users to your Organization:

    1. Log in to your Web Vault and open your Organization.
    2. Open the Manage tab and select People from the left-hand menu.
    3. Select the Invite User button:

      Invite User
      Invite User
    4. On the Invite User panel:

      • Enter the Email address where new users should receive invites. You can add up to 20 users at a time by comma-separating email addresses.
      • Select the User Type to be applied to new users. User Type will determine what permissions these users will have at an Organizational level.
      • Select the Access Control to be applied to new users. Access Control will determine which Collections these users will have access to, and what level of access within those Collections.
    5. Click Save to invite the designated users to your Organization.
    Note

    Invitations expire after 5 days, at which point the user will need to be re-invited. Re-invite users in bulk by selecting each user and using the gear dropdown to Resend Invitations:

    Bulk Reinvite
    Bulk Reinvite

    If you’re self-hosting Bitwarden, you can configure the invitation expiration period using an environment variable.

    Accept

    Invited users will receive an email from Bitwarden inviting them to join the Organization. Clicking the link in the email will open a Bitwarden Client invitation window. Log In with an existing Bitwarden or Create Account to accept the invitation:

    Invitation Window
    Invitation Window

    Confirm

    To confirm accepted invitations into your Organization:

    1. Log in to your Web Vault and open your Organization.
    2. Open the Manage tab and select People from the left-hand menu.
    3. Select any Accepted users and use the gear dropdown to Confirm Selected:

      Confirm an Accepted user
      Confirm an Accepted user
    4. Verify that the fingerprint phrase on your screen matches the one your new member can find in SettingsMy Account:

      Sample Fingerprint Phrase
      Sample Fingerprint Phrase

    Each fingerprint phrase is unique to its account, and ensures a final layer of oversight in securely adding users. If they match, select Submit.

    Offboard Users

    To remove users from your Organization:

    1. Login to your Web Vault and open your Organization.
    2. In your Organization, open the Manage tab and select People from the left menu.
    3. Select the users you want to remove from the Organization and use the gear dropdown to Remove:
    Remove Users
    Remove Users

    Deleting User Accounts

    Removing a user from your Organization does not delete their Bitwarden account. When a user is removed they can no longer access the Organization or any shared items and Collections, however they will still be able to login to Bitwarden using their existing Master Password and access any Personal Vault items.

    Depending on the particulars of your implementation, you may be able to use one of the following methods to delete a Bitwarden user account that belongs to an offboarded user:

    1. If you’re self-hosting Bitwarden, an authorized admin can delete the account from the System Administrator Portal.
    2. If the account has an @yourcompany.com email address that your company controls, you can use the delete without logging in tool and confirm deletion within the @yourcompany.com inbox. For more information, see Delete an Account Without Logging In.