About Send

Category: Bitwarden Send
On this page:

    What is Send?

    Bitwarden Send is a secure and ephemeral way to transmit sensitive information to anyone. Sends can include plaintext or file attachments up to 500 MB (100 MB if creating from Mobile). Every Send is assigned a randomly generated and secure link, which can be shared with anyone (including those who do not have Bitwarden accounts) via text, email, or whatever communication channel you prefer. Every Send is:

    • End-to-end Encrypted: Data in a Send is encrypted on creation, and only decrypted when a recipient opens the Send link. The contents of a Send are stored encrypted in Bitwarden systems, just like a traditional Vault item. The link generated for each send doesn’t contain any data related to the Send’s contents, so it’s safe to share over intermediary communications services without exposing information to Bitwarden or any used intermediary services.

    • Dynamically Ephemeral: Sends are designed for ephemeral sharing, so every Send that you create will have a specified lifespan (max 31 days) that can be configured using pre-set options or a custom timestamp for down-to-the-minute specification. When its deletion date is reached, the Send and its contents will be completely purged from Bitwarden systems. Using additional options like Expiration Date and Maximum Access Count, you can ensure that access to recipients is terminated according to your needs.

    • Customizably Private: Protect the contents of your Send by optionally configuring a password for access or hiding your email address from recipients. For text Sends, you can also optionally require users to toggle visibility to prevent exposure to unintentional onlookers.

    The Send View

    Sends are created, edited, managed, and deleted from the Send view in any Bitwarden application. The Send view can be accessed from the global application navigation, for example in the Web Vault:

    Send in the Web Vault
    Send in the Web Vault

    Using Send

    Using Bitwarden Send is a simple two-step process:

    1. Create your Send, setting whichever lifespan options and privacy options are required to fit your sharing needs.
    2. Share the Send link with the intended recipients, using whatever communication channel you prefer.

    As the Sender, we recommend that you keep track of your Send’s configured lifespan. To make that as easy as possible, Sends in your Send view will display a set of status icons whenever a lifespan event (for example, expiration) has occurred.