This article contains Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) regarding Organizations.
For more high-level information about Organizations, refer to the following articles:
Q: What’s the difference between Organizations and Premium?
A: Organizations unlock access to secure sharing between users who are members of that Organization.
Premium Individual plans unlock premium password security and management features, including advanced 2FA options, the Bitwarden Authenticator (TOTP), encrypted file storage, and more. Premium Individual does not include secure data sharing.
Paid Organizations (Families, Teams, or Enterprise) automatically include premium features (advanced 2FA options, Bitwarden Authenticator, etc.) for every user enrolled in the Organization.
Q: My Organization’s owner is no longer with the company, can a new owner be created?
A: Only an Owner can create a new Owner or assign Owner to an existing user. For failover purposes, Bitwarden recommends creating multiple Owner users. If your single Owner has left the company, Contact Us.
Q: I have invited users but they cannot see shared items, what do I do?
A: Invited users will receive an email asking them to join the Organization. First, make sure they have accepted the invitation. If they have, a Admin or Owner should navigate to Manage → People, hover over that user, open the gear dropdown, and select Confirm.
Q: What events are auditing for my Organization?
A: For a full list of what’s included in Bitwarden Event Logs, see Event Logs.
Sharing with an Organization
Q: How do I “unshare” an item from my Organization?
A: To unshare an item:
Clone the item back to your Personal Vault by navigating to your Organization Vault and selecting Clone from the gear dropdown for the item you want to clone. Only users with User Type Admin or higher can only clone items into their Personal Vault by changing the Ownership setting.
Delete the item from the Organization Vault by selecting Delete from the same gear dropdown.
Alternatively, you can unshare items by moving them to a different Collection with higher Access Control restrictions.
Q: Does an item I share with the Organization stay after I leave?
A: It does! When a user shares an item with an Organization, the Organization takes ownership of the item. Even if the user leaves the Organization or deletes their account, that item will remain in the Organization Vault.
Was this helpful?
Rate this article:
Want to talk to a human?Send Us An Email