Managing the items in your vault is key to making sure that you secure, have access to, and can share the correct information with friends, family, teams, and colleagues.
Adding items to your Bitwarden vault can be done manually or via import.
To manually add an item, once you’re in your vault - simply click or touch the “+” icon or “Add item” button.
You’ll then be asked to provide details about the item.
The type of item can be:
If you’re coming from another password manager or just happen to have your usernames and passwords in a spreadsheet, you can import them into Bitwarden
You can find more details about importing items and supported import formats here.
Performing a vault purge is permanent and cannot be undone. Once the vault has been emptied and the CSV/JSON file has been pruned of any duplicates, simply re-import your data.
If you wish to recreate an item (either to share with an organization or to simply make a copy of an item, you can now do so - provided you are the owner of the item - with a one-click operation. This copies the item completely and maintains all data.
Simply select clone under the item’s action menu:
Note - when cloning an item in an organization vault, the user must view the vault from the organization, not the user’s personal vault
Deleting an item can also be performed in the item’s action menu.
Once the delete button is selected, you will be prompted to confirm the deletion.
Once confirmed, the item will be placed into the trash.
Once an item has been deleted and is in the trash, it will remain there for 30 days. You can alternatively navigate to the trash view in your vault and restore, or permanently delete the item immediately.
Rate this article:
Want to talk to a human?Send Us An Email