Admin ConsoleManage MembersDirectory Connector

Sync Options and Filters

When configuring the Directory Connector application, you can use a variety of sync options and filters to customize your sync operation and limit the users and/or groups that are processed to your Bitwarden organization.

Available sync options and filter syntaxes are different for each directory server type. Refer to the Configure sync options and Specify sync filters sections of one of the following articles for help:

tip

If you are using the Directory Connector CLI, see Directory Connector File Storage for help editing your data.json configuration file.

Large syncs

Regardless of which directory you are syncing from, use the More than 2000 users or groups are expected to sync option to signal to Directory Connector that you are expecting a large number of users or groups:

Signal a Large Sync
Signal a Large Sync

You may also activate this option directly in the Directory Connector configuration file ( data.json) by setting "largeImport": true:

Bash
"syncConfig": { ..., ..., ..., "largeImport": true },"
note

If you don't enable this option, Directory Connector will limit a sync to 2000 users or groups.

Automatically send email invitations

By default, a user provisioned through Directory Connector is placed into a Staged status from which they can be issued an invitation to join the organization. You can change this behavior with the Automatically send email invitations setting:

  • When On, users are issued email invitations automatically as soon as they're provisioned.

  • When Off, users are placed into a Staged status instead of being invited immediately. Staged users:

    • Do not receive an invitation email.

    • Do not occupy a license seat.

    • Are not subject to your organization's policies.

You may also activate this option directly in the Directory Connector configuration file ( data.json) by setting "inviteUsersAfterProvisioning"::

JavaScript
"syncConfig": { ..., ..., ..., "inviteUsersAfterProvisioning": true },

Overwriting syncs

warning

This option is for very specific use-cases or debugging purposes and is disabled by default.

By activating the Remove and re-add organization users during the next sync option, every user except one owner user and every group will be removed and re-added by a sync, replacing them with the user list and/or group list that is fetched from the source directory.

Remove and re-add users during next sync
Remove and re-add users during next sync

You may also enable this option directly in the Directory Connector configuration file ( data.json) by setting "overwriteExisting": true:

Bash
"syncConfig": { ..., ..., ..., "overwriteExisting": true },"