An update to the inline autofill makes it easier than ever to add items to Bitwarden. Whether a new login or one you remember and haven’t stored yet, the inline autofill menu will help get them secured.
Now when you enter an item into a username or password field that isn’t already in your Bitwarden vault, the inline autofill menu will show a new Save to Bitwarden prompt.

Clicking this will open the Bitwarden browser extension with anything you typed already pre-filled. This gives you a chance to make edits, such as the site name, any notes, or how it’s organized in your vault. When satisfied, click Save and fill at the bottom, and Bitwarden will save the item in the vault and autofill the username and password on the page.
If you’re creating a brand new account and nothing is saved, the inline autofill will show + New item. Clicking this will open the extension with the website address pre-filled, and you can enter in your preferred username and generate a strong password from there. Hit Save and fill and everything is where it needs to be.

With new accounts, the action of filling after saving is convenient not only because any change you made is then reflected on the page, but any “confirm your new password” field will also be filled too!
Whether you’re new to password managers or coming from another, Bitwarden offers the best in open source transparency, flexibility, and plan options, including a basic free plan. See which plan works best for you and enjoy everything else that makes Bitwarden a popular choice among security-minded users.

