Sharing

Hinweis

In order to share items you need to be a member of an organization. Learn more about organizations or learn how to start your own two-person organization.

Sharing items with Bitwarden means moving them into an organization and collection, a structure used to gather logins, notes, cards, and identities for access by multiple users. There are a few different ways you can create organization items for sharing:

Move an item to an organization

Organization members can move items to any assigned collection(s) unless they are given read only access to that collection. To move an item to an organization:

  1. Select the Options menu for the item to move.

  2. From the dropdown, select the Move to Organization option.

  3. On the Move to Organization screen:

    • Choose the organization to share this item with.

    • Select one or more collections to share this item into. You must select at least one collection.

  4. Click Save to finishing moving this item for sharing.

Moving an item to an organization will transfer ownership to the organization. This means that anyone with permission can alter the item or delete it, which would remove it from your vault as well. You can tell that an item is shared by the card next to its name:

Shared Item icon
Shared Item icon

  1. Navigate to the Vault view.

  2. Select the vault item to move to an organization.

  3. Select the Move to Organization option.

  4. On the Move to Organization screen:

    • Choose the organization to share this item with.

    • Select one or more collections to share this item into. You must select at least one collection.

  1. Select the vault item to move to an organization.

  2. Select the Edit icon for the vault item to move.

  3. Select the Move button.

  4. On the Move to Organization panel:

    • Choose the organization to share this item with.

    • Select one or more collections to share this item into. You must select at least one collection.

  1. Select the vault item to move to an organization.

  2. Select the Options menu in the top right corner of the screen.

  3. Select the Move to Organization option.

  4. On the Move to Organization screen:

    • Choose the organization to share this item with.

    • Select one or more collections to share this item into. You must select at least one collection.

To move an item, use the command:

bw move <itemid> <organizationid> [encodedJson]

Where:

  • itemid represents the item's unique identifier.

  • organizationid represents the unique identifier of the organization to move the item to.

For more information, please refer to the Bitwarden CLI documentation.

Create an organization item

Organization members can create new items directly for any assigned collection(s) unless they are given read only access to that collection. To create an organization-owned item from the web vault:

To create a new shared item:

  1. On the Vaults page, select the Add Item button.

  2. Fill in all the relevant information for the new vault item.

  3. In the Ownership section at the bottom of the Add Item panel, choose the organization you want to share this item with.

  4. Select one or more collections to share this item into. You must select at least one collection.

  5. Select the Save button to finishing creating the shared item.

Creating a shared item will set ownership to the organization. This means that anyone with permission can alter the item or delete it, which would remove it from your vault as well. You can tell that an item is shared by the card next to its name:

Shared Item icon
Shared Item icon

To create a new shared item:

  1. On your organization's Vault tab, select the Add Item button.

  2. Fill in all the relevant information for the new vault item.

  3. The ownership of the item is automatically set to the organization when you use this method, so all you need to do is select one or more collections to share this item into. You must select at least one collection.

  4. Select the Save button to finishing creating the shared item.

Creating a shared item or sharing an item will set ownership to the organization. This means that anyone with permission can alter the item or delete it, which would remove it from your vault as well. You can tell that an item is shared by the card next to its name:

Shared Item icon
Shared Item icon


Sprache
© 2022 Bitwarden, Inc.
NutzungsbedingungenDatenschutzerklärungSitemap