Provider Users

Onboard provider users

To ensure the secure administration of your client organizations, Bitwarden applies a three-step process for onboarding a new Provider member, InviteAcceptConfirm.

Invite

To invite users to your Provider:

  1. Log in to the web vault and open your Provider.

  2. Open the Manage tab and select People from the left-hand menu.

  3. Select the Invite User button:

    Invite Provider Users
    Invite Provider Users
  4. On the Invite User panel:

    • Enter the Email address where new users should receive their invites. You can add up to 20 users at a time by comma-separating email addresses.

    • Select the User Type to be applied to this batch of users. User type will determine what access these users will have to the provider. Both user types will be able to fully administer any client organization.

  5. Click Save to invite the designated users to join the Provider.

Hinweis

Invitations expire after five days, at which point the user will need to be re-invited. Re-invite users in bulk by selecting each user and using the gear dropdown to Resend Invitations:

Resend Provider Invitation
Resend Provider Invitation

Accept

Invited users will receive an email from Bitwaden inviting them to join the Provider. Clicking the link in the email will open a Bitwarden invitations window. Log In with an existing Bitwarden account or Create Account to accept the invitation:

Email Invitation
Email Invitation

Confirm

To confirm accepted invitations to your Provider:

  1. Log in to the web vault and open your Provider.

  2. Open the Manage tab and select People from the left-hand menu.

  3. Select any Accepted users and use the gear dropdown to Confirm Selected:

    Confirm Provider Users
    Confirm Provider Users
  4. On the panel that appears, verify that the fingerprint phrases for new users match those they can find in their Account Settings screen.

    Each fingerprint phrase is unique to its account, and ensures a final layer of oversight in securely adding users. If they match, select Confirm.

Offboard users

To remove users from your Provider:

  1. Log in to the web vault and open your Provider.

  2. Open the Manage tab and select People from the left-hand menu.

  3. Select the users you want to remove from the provider and use the gear dropdown to Remove:

    Remove Provider Users
    Remove Provider Users

Provider user types

Tipp

Managing a client organization's users? Organizations have a set of user types and access controls that are distinct from Provider user types.

Bitwarden Provider users can be granted one of two user types to manage their access to the Provider. Both user types will be able to fully administer any client organization. Bitwarden strongly recommends that you provision a second user with a Provider admin role for failover purposes.

You can set user types when you invite provider users, or at any time from the ManagePeople screen in your Provider Portal. User types include:

Role Description
Service user Service users can access and manage all client organizations, including:

- Access shared items stored in the organization vault
- Add, edit, or remove items from all collections
- Create or delete collections
- Assign users and user groups to collections
- Assign users to user groups
- Create or delete user groups
- Invite and confirm new users
- Manage enterprise policies
- View event logs
- Export organization vault data
- Manage password reset
- Manage billing, subscription, and integrations
Provider admin Provider admins manage all aspects of the provider and all client organizations. Provider admins can do all of the above, plus:

- Create new client organizations
- Add existing organizations to the provider
- Invite and confirm new service users and provider admins
- View provider event logs
- Edit provider settings


Sprache
© 2022 Bitwarden, Inc.
NutzungsbedingungenDatenschutzerklärungSitemap